The Supercarriers

1399,- Kč

The Forrestal and Kitty Hawk Class

Autor: Andrew Faltum
Strany: 288
ISBN: 9781591141808

As the first of the “supercarriers,” the USS Forrestal ushered in a new era of naval power when it was commissioned in 1955. Throughout the Cold War and into the uncertain and dangerous world that followed, the first question of senior American leadership in response to a crisis has often been, “Where are the carriers?” The Supercarriers is a comprehensive historical overview with extensive photos, maps, drawings, and operational detail, including all air-wing deployments. The book covers the Forrestal-class supercarriers and the follow-on ships, which are essentially of the same design, including the Forrestal (CV 59), Saratoga (CV 60), Ranger (CV 61), Independence (CV 62), Kitty Hawk (CV 63), Constellation (CV 64), America (CV 66), and John F. Kennedy (CV 67). As in Faltum’s previous books, The Essex Aircraft Carriers and The Independence Light Aircraft Carriers, the main emphasis here is on the operational history of these ships, which spans over fifty years. The book is heavily illustrated, with more than one hundred black-and-white illustrations and maps covering the western Pacific, Vietnam, Mediterranean, Middle East, Indian Ocean, and Caribbean. The front endpaper illustration shows the Saratoga as representative of the Forrestal class, with port and starboard profiles and an overhead view. The rear endpaper displays similar views of the Constellation as part of the Kitty Hawk class. In addition to illustrations, the appendices offer illustrations, technical design data, and much more. A good historical overview written in a nontechnical style, this book will appeal to general audiences as well naval enthusiasts and hobbyists.

Přidat do košíku:

  • Kód: 9781591141808
  • Výrobce: US Naval Institute Press

Tento produkt byl přidán dne Neděle 22. březen 2015.

Vaše IP adresa je:
Copyright © 2021 AHM. Powered by Zen Cart